2009 Finance grad - looking to enter Finance world for first time - Graduated from a top-50 private school

First of all, please pardon my ignorance.

In the Spring of 2010 I graduated from a top-50 private Southern school with an undergraduate major in Finance and a Masters in Accounting (joint program). Why Masters in Accounting? Good question. I spent much of my first few years at school in a drunken haze, more concerned about my social life than something as distant as real life. Truth be told, I made this decision after my sophomore year, when I still had aspirations of going to law school. I had an internship with a local commercial real estate firm, and their CEO happened to be an alum of my school who recommended the masters of accounting - law school path.

Before my 5th year of my joint program, I completed an internship with one of the Big 4 accounting firms in their assurance (auditing) practice, and hated every minute of it. After receiving a full-time offer from them in the fall, I started to wonder where my path would take me (I had decided against law school at this time). I decided to decline the offer and instead begin working for a start-up (this is against the interest of full-disclosure, but lets just say my job capacity was not finance or accounting focused). The company was/is so small that I shared many of the same duties as Principal, in terms of day-to-day operations. This included filing the companys taxes, making fiscal decisions, as well as meeting with potential clients etc. The opportunity was great, but as things happen, it does not look the company is going to expand in such a way for me to comfortably grow in my position.