400 hours for the GMAT?

Hello WSO,
Firstly I am very grateful that I have found this forum and I sincerely hope that this community can aid me in attaining my goal.

At any rate, from June to July/August 2016 I will have the opportunity to study for the GMAT. My aim is 740 and I plan to study seven hours every day from the start of June (after my University exams) to the end of July/beginning of August.

740…is such goal achievable for an individual with average intelligence? I would assume that I am most likely above; but I don't think I am as smart as most people here. I have read that some people on here only needed a week to study in order to get over 700…I don’t think I would be able to do that.

My degree is in Accounting and Economics if that is of any relevance and furthermore I am a non-native speaker. My parents are Nigerian nevertheless, so I picked up some English when I was living in Germany. I have been living in the UK for seven years now.

Thanks for all the replies.

***GMAT is for Masters (Targets ---> LSE, UCL, Imperial).

740...is such goal achievable for an individual with average intelligence? I would assume that I am most likely above; but I don't think I am as smart as most people here. I have read that some people on here only needed a week to study in order to get over 700...I don't think I would be able to do that.

The GMAT has little to do with intelligence. If you are of average intelligence you can do very well on it if you practice hard. If you are a native English speaker you also have an edge, so it is a bit unfair in that sense.

Also, keep in mind that it is exponentially harder to get each 10 point increment. In other words, the difference between 740 and 700 is much more significant than that between 700 and 660.