Advice needed on career path - better work exp. for MBA on 2012

Hello everyone,

I am new on the forum even if I have been following it for a while, and I find it really interesting.

I am facing in these days an important decision to take and I would like to receive some advice on that since it would definitely influence my career path.
I work for big 4 consulting company since almost 2 years by now, within the practice of system integration consultig, where I work as a business analyst with packaged CRM processes/solutions (Siebel, Salesforce…). Unfortunately, thus far I have been stucked on one implementation project from more than 1.5 year.

Finally, now it's time to change project, and some doubts came with it. A partner of
the “Strategy” service line of my company told me that he sees in me good potentials for being employed within “strategy” projects and he would be happy if I asked to my partner to join their service line. On the other hand, my actual partner proposed me a role in another IT / process project, but with more responsibility and maybe better opportunities to get promoted faster (1 year less of the usual path, if I perform well).

Assuming that my goal for next year (2012) is to apply for an MBA (preferably world top 20), and my long-term goal is to break in into either strategy consulting or management position within a Fortune 500, I summarized my considerations as follows:

• Pros of going for a “strategy” project:
    • Basically for me the topics and issues would be more interesting and challenging, even if I am not really sure to be able to fit with it, since I come from a technical background (engineering) and never had experience in strategy before.
    • Maybe the work experience would be more valuable for a top MBA admission on the next year, since I could join different projects (they generally last less) within 1 year of Work Exp., and working on different business strategy and operations issues.