Any hope of a 2012 grad finding a finance job this time of year?

This is my first post on WSO so please bear with me.

I am currently a finance major graduating from a semi-target school in 1 month. I'm graduating with latin honors and I have internship experience at ML (currently) and Dow Jones (private equity research).

In my foolishness I missed the finance hiring cycle in the fall by just being oblivious, sitting on my ass and not applying anywhere.

I'm now in an application frenzy, mostly finding positions on my school's career center job board and indeed.com. I'm really looking for anything at this point, but most likely IB/BB in NYC.

My main question is, when a job post says "requires 3-5 years of experience", is it even worth me applying? Basically, will my resume be thrown aside immediately once they see im a new college grad, or will they look at it and consider my 1-2 years of internship experience and say "close enough for an interview".

(also any suggestions about what I should be doing beyond applying in this manner would greatly be appreciated!)

But really, no I wouldn't waste time applying. Look for positions that say 'recent college graduate' or since you are still in school apply through the Current Student section of websites. At this point you may need to try to think outside the box on where you could apply. It's better to get a job out of school that may not be as prestigious and try to lateral versus unemployed.

Yes I completely understand, I'm looking to avoid unemployment at all costs.

I never pretended to misconstrue 3-5 years experience with new college grad. I was simply wondering if it meant my resume would be completely binned (which seems to be the case), or if in some circumstances it would still be considered based on school, grades, and relevant internship experience.