Assistant Trader Internship Program 2011

Hello Everyone,

I have been reading the posts on this particular forum and I am looking for some help from the board...I am currently attending Rider University, located in NJ and I am majoring in finance. I have been trading penny stocks for 6yrs, day trading them for about a year now and doing quite well. I have begun applying at a few locations for summer internship programs and I am awaiting to hear back from some companies.

Does anyone have any advice as to a decent prop. trading firm or a trading firm that will be willing to speak to a NON-IVY league student with a high GPA and an excellent understanding of the financial markets? I am 7 & 66 licensed already (used to be a financial advisor) and i want to trade....this is my passion...all help and guidance would be greatly appreciated as I know from my own research this is a vigorous process and simply finding an internship is in itself a challenge.

Thank you for your replies in advance.

Best Response
shorttheworld:
i think if you have a good educational background and can show that u have the fin markets experience and knowledge you need to show it -- show little set up of your trading strategies and plays (detailed and long and drawn out and lots of them-- like a pitchbook) and whatnot and send it in with your cover letter
That is a good idea, this is one of the reasons I joined this site...just to pick up whatever additional information that may help increase my chances...one large call I made was a few years back when gold (commodity) was at 690 /oz, I was telling my family and friends to load the boat, some listened others didnt however those that did not still say "how did you see that coming" lol to me it was an obvious but that is what seperates us traders, vision, strategy, and cahones. lol
"The science of trading, is knowing when to buy a stock...the art is knowing what time to sell."