Hello WSO! F500 Corporate Finance Guy trying to break into Investment Banking!

Hi WSO!,

I am currently a third year Finance student at McCombs (UT/Texas). Starting out at McCombs I thought I was set on doing F500 corporate finance. I really struggled my first year averaging a 3.0 GPA and then slowly improved to a 3.35 my second year. since and I should see further upward trend from here on out.

Coming into McCombs I came in with quite a few credits and so I decided to take a gap semester off my third year to do a 6 month internship at The Boeing Company (Boeing Commercial Airplanes division) in their corporate finance division doing Financial Planning and Analysis in Seattle (I will also be returning my junior year summer). Right off the bat I will tell you that the work/life balance was great. Honestly that was the only thing I really enjoyed about the corporate finance lifestyle. Other than that the work wasn't very intellectually challenging or "sexy"/"exciting" and the people I worked with were plain average joes and weren't very "intellectual" as well. These are the two main reasons why I hate the corporate finance lifestyle.