Masters in Accounting at age 24/25; Does it impact your hire ability with Big 4?

Lets say that I was able to have a successful business venture or do tech sales for 3/4 years post graduation. Then go back to get a MS in Accounting. Would being older be a disadvantage for Big 4 hiring or might it even be a plus since you have more verifiable and actionable experience.

I guess I'm asking is are the Audit hiring classes in the Big 4 normally all 22/23 year olds or do less traditional people trickle in?

Take what I say with a grain of salt, as I am a graduate of a B-School that typically spits out Big 4 employees which may skew my experience.

From what I've seen, and from what many friends who now work at the Big 4 experienced, there doesn't seem to be much of a difference for age brackets. I've had colleagues who were fresh out of an undergrad-masters expedited program who managed to cruise through the hiring process. I've also known people who had just earned their Masters in Accounting in their late 20s who managed to do the same thing.

Bottom line - if you have a solid Masters program under your belt and a helpful career center/network, you should be fine regardless of age.

Thanks! I've been completely considering the idea of doing tech sales for a couple years (since the pay is roughly $100K/yr) to save up, pay off other loans then launch into something more analytical and financial related. Thanks for the advice! :)

"It is better to have a friendship based on business, than a business based on friendship." - Rockefeller. "Live fast, die hard. Leave a good looking body." - Navy SEAL

Best Response