Excel 2003 vs 2007 / 2010

I hear a lot of large banks still use Excel 2003, but I assume that eventually everyone will upgrade? I'm wondering when that might happen and if it would be worth it to start using Excel 2003 now when I already have 2007 and a free upgrade to 2010 when it's released. Are there any major reasons for the banks not upgrading, other than compatibility? Why would anyone prefer 2003 over 2007? It seems strange to me, but maybe it's because I had never even opened Excel before 2007 came out. Also, does anyone know if they will change the interface in 2010? I'm just starting out learning financial modeling and Excel properly, so it would suck to find that I need to get used to something completely different when I start doing real work.

I hate 2007.

Seriously, why the **** do I have to hit Alt+H+JD+AA+T just to fucking align something at the top in powerpoint? Why do I have to hit Alt + H + F+C just to change font color?

-------------------------------------------------------- "I do not think there is any other quality so essential to success of any kind as the quality of perseverance. It overcom

Some banks have their own internal systems and applications built on the 2003 version. Another reason is that 2007 is a major update that changed all the settings and shortcuts, people would just go mad, like coffeebateman says.

2010 is pretty much the same plaform as 2007 so they are very similar.

Best Response

Functionalities of 2003 and 2007 are quasi identical. Basically Excel 2003 had already repaired most of its previous mistakes. The few illogical formulas remaining were removed in 2007. Therefore in my opinion the main change is the layout. Since it is more "newbie-friendly" and less "professional user-friendly" (cf. above commentary on dumb shortcuts), I can see why a lot of working people are resisting it. Plus, it's less manly, and that is no small issue on a trading floor.