recruiting while abroad

Hey guys,

I'm an undergraduate student in Europe (target school) graduating next year and I'm starting to prepare for MBB+Booz+OW+other top firms recruiting sext semester.

"Unfortunately" from summer till December I will be abroad doing an exchange semester at the University of Melbourne, Australia. The exchange semester is mandatory in the recently updated ugrad programme at my uni so it's not like I can choose not to do it.

Anyway, I know that applications start from September to November and some firms even start interviewing mid, late December; so I really feel I could be in a disadvantage regarding other candidates from my uni (Msc students) or other unis due to my limited availability in that period.

I'd like to know up to what point firms are flexible when recruiting. I mean, if I pass the screening process and get an interview, will I be able to do them at the offices in Melbourne, or will they conveniently delay my interviews till I come back if necessary, or will they forget about me all together?

Any kind of advice is accepted guys, Thanks!!!

I was in another country than the one I applied to last fall and was able to do the first round over a video conference. Generally, they seemed quite flexible. But, I'd say it was a bit harder to perform well during a VC since you couldn't really structure your thoughts on a piece of paper as you would during a normal interview.

Muuuk:
I was in another country than the one I applied to last fall and was able to do the first round over a video conference. Generally, they seemed quite flexible. But, I'd say it was a bit harder to perform well during a VC since you couldn't really structure your thoughts on a piece of paper as you would during a normal interview.

thanks for the reply Muuk

what really worries me is not being able to attend the career forum at my uni hence hindering my retworking possibilities.