70/week now. I'm a student, and I've worked those hours doing stuff that I hate. I could kill it for a decade and even without any pay progression, I could have a sizable chunk of money in the bank. Would I want to work like that forever? I don't know, but I think there's something to be said about having enough money/security in your life to not worry about being laid off or having the ability to tell your boss to shove a cactus up his ass and walk out.

I'd add the caveat that this wouldn't even need to be something that I was "super passionate about". I know people that go through the law grind for similar pay, and I can guarantee you that none of them have any level of passion for 80% of what they do.

Simple math guys. Why work 75% more hours (70 vs 40) for 50% more pay ($150K vs $100K)? If you're fairly valued in your pay at your "40 hour job" then you're underpaying yourself in terms of $/hour for grabbing that additional 30 hours work.

Why not take that extra 30 hours per week and use it to create/develop/build some program or side business that's eventually likely to outpay your current hourly $ rake and also open up other avenues for you...that might be more enjoyable...or pay even more...or let you retire early? Time is finite!

I'd say the extra 50K even after taxes (so lets say 30K) over 3 years gives me a nice little savings that if I wanted to take a full year off to travel I could do that. So I'm going with 150K working 70 hours a week. It'd also cut back on my expenses since I'd spend so much time in the office.

"It is better to have a friendship based on business, than a business based on friendship." - Rockefeller. "Live fast, die hard. Leave a good looking body." - Navy SEAL

40 hours/week for $100K no doubt about it. Extra $50K after taxes is not worth an extra 30 hours/week.