Worth spending $120 to attend CFA® Society meeting?

Hey everyone,

I'm a sophomore at a Canadian non-target in western Canada. While I do plan to transfer to a Canadian target, I still would like to get a decent, or at least relevant, summer internship of some kind. My goal (currently) is to eventually get into Asset Management, and one day become a PM.

My question is, do you think it's worth paying $120 to attend the local CFA® society meeting? The purpose would be to network (obviously) and hopefully meet someone who can offer a summer internship.

Please let me know if you think it's worth attending the meeting, why or why not, and any specific advice you may have on making the most of it. I should also probably mention, I live in a pretty small city.

Thanks!

You are going to meet a lot of people so if you have the $120 to spend then I say go for it. I have gone to some CFA events and met people from all over. If I was looking for a summer internship and needed exposure then I would spend the $120.

Best Response

If the money is not a big deal - then go for it. $120 means different things to different people.

You'll see a lot of negative comments on this board for the CFA. For the investment banking and sales and trading side, the CFA certification and the CFA institute are pretty much irrelevant. On the Asset Management side however, it is very relevant.

To make the most of your time, network with as many people as possible and do not be shy.

Introduce yourself, have a conversation about whatever you'd like (don't be shy and just say hi, nice meeting you and move on to the next person, quality over quantity), don't bring up that you're looking for a job/internship, etc.