$118K Undergrad Debt too much?

Hello All,

I am a current HS Senior with offers from GWU SB and BU Questrom, both finance majors. GWU gave me a 20K scholarship, which makes my debt around 52K, whereas BU gave 0 aid so the debt would be around 118K. BU Questrom has appealed to me in all ways and I think it would be a great experience. My question is, do you think 118K is too much in student debt? It would be heartbreaking to forgo on BU.

And secondly, how does GWU fare against BU? My goal is to get into finance, and Investment Banking is a potential path.

Any help is appreciated. I am in a bind for time and am really stressing about this. I am sorry if I seem like such a noob here, but I really need help.

Thank you

For the love of God choose GWU. I am all for leveraging yourself in order to achieve a better tomorrow, but doubling your debt load in order to go to a marginally better school is not worth it. My suggestion would be to work hard at GWU your freshmen year, try to get a 3.7-4.0 GPA. Get involved in some investment or IB clubs on campus. Then transfer to a top 20 school for your sophomore year. If you are interested in banking there are some firms in DC that you could possible get an internship at if you hustle this summer to learn accounting and finance fundamentals. Also PWM may be a more achievable freshmen year internship. Just remember college is both a personal and business decision, choose the option that will bring you the most enjoyment along with the best return on your investment. Good Luck making your decision.

Best Response

I graduated with almost $125K in student debt. Minimum payments of $1,300, floating rate at LIBOR + 8.5%.

It weighs you down (and I was earning well). I had to pass on a few opportunities which in another life I would have really enjoyed. Any new position you need to take into account this payment each month. Whether it is:

1. Startup who cannot afford a large salary