2021 Grad with no job

Hello,
I graduated this May from a semi-target in the NE with an ok GPA. I did a sophomore-year project finance internship and the program I was supposed to do my junior year got canceled. I spent a good amount of time reaching to alumni and cold emailing with no luck. A couple of times I came really close to getting a job but my lack of experience and being an international student didn't help me with the final decision. Now, most of the listings I see require at least a year of experience. At this point, I don't know how to move forward and what positions to look at.

WSO Elite Modeling Package

• 6 courses to mastery: Excel, Financial Statement, LBO, M&A, Valuation and DCF
  • Elite instructors from top BB investment banks and private equity megafunds
  • Includes Company DB + Video Library Access (1 year)

Comments (8)

Sep 10, 2021 - 11:06pm

I'm trying but I don't know what to go for at this point. Most of the listings I see are for experienced hires/laterals. Smaller places are not really interested in sponsoring or training more people or just done hiring for the year.

Sep 10, 2021 - 11:35pm

Keep grinding. Apply for internships and enrol for a MFin. You may need to relocate to Europe and if you still really want to move back to NA, think about lateraling back 3-4years in

Sep 10, 2021 - 11:50pm

MFin's aren't that common in NA/ don't reap the same benefits into 'high finance' compared to Europe where large amounts of candidates have it. America equivalent would be working few years and then doing an MBA

Learn More

300+ video lessons across 6 modeling courses taught by elite practitioners at the top investment banks and private equity funds -- Excel Modeling -- Financial Statement Modeling -- M&A Modeling -- LBO Modeling -- DCF and Valuation Modeling -- ALL INCLUDED + 2 Huge Bonuses.

Learn more
Sep 20, 2021 - 4:15pm