2022 Summer Analyst Recruitment Preparation

Hello everyone, 

I am new here and I'm a bit unsure how things work here but I'll take any help I get. I am currently a sophomore at the Kelley School of Business at Indiana University majoring in Finance and Real Estate and I'm aiming to get a summer analyst role at places like Citi, RBC,  Bank of America, William Blair etc. and although I would love to work at elite boutiques such as Lazard and Evercore, IU Kelley is not one of their targets so those banks are, realistically, out of the question. My GPA is currently 3.4/4.0 but I'm confident by the end of my sophomore year it'll be at least a 3.8 or 3.9. I'm currently doing a financial modelling and valuations course and an internship at a boutique investment bank in the fall along with my school work. With recruiting less than a year away I was wondering if I could get some preparation tips or a particular resource that people here have used that has really helped them with the process. I pretty much have no guidance and I'm really worried about recruitment and hopefully someone here could give me a direction on what I should do from now. I've tried getting relevant internships and I'm starting to network with upperclassmen and alumni but is there anything else I should do? Any help would be really appreciated!

Thanks!

Make sure you know all of the “Basic” sections of the 400Q guide, and actually understand the concepts so you can go a level deeper if asked. I also advise you network with people you don’t know in addition to alumni, and with that cast a wider net of banks. You mentioned some BB, some MM in your post, you should make sure you have a specific reason for either/both when interviewing. Lastly, really make sure you get that GPA up. Your fall internship will surely help you stand out but if you have even a 3.6 gpa there will be tons of kids who will look better on paper.

Most Helpful