300Hours: How to create your ideal CFA study plan.

Hi WSO. I’m both an old-timer and newbie here - been missing in action for a few years (children!), but I’m back now.

I mainly post about the CFA exams but have considerable experience in tech M&A, management consulting and corporate finance as well. Any questions just comment below and I’ll reply.

I hope to post here about once or twice a month going forward.

January CFA toolkit: How to create an effective study plan

I got my CFA charter back in 2011 and since then, through 300Hours.com I’ve been helping candidates pass their CFA exams.

January is typically a busy month for the typical CFA candidate. June exam candidates are starting their studies, and December exam candidates are flipping out about their results (should be coming next Tuesday!).

For this post, I’ll focus on study plans - how to create an effective one for yourself.

You guys are obviously no strangers to studying so this may seem a little basic, but the CFA exams will be a different beast to what you’ve encountered before. Every little advantage helps you tip the odds in your favor, and a well-thought-out, CFA-tuned study plan is definitely one of them.

It doesn’t matter which study plan you use as long as you DO plan out how you’re going to study and cover the principles outlined below. But to help you get started, we have a ready-made study planner for you - you can generate one for yourself here for free and get started right away.

Here are the 3 ‘P’s to creating an effective study plan. Please excuse the cheesy acronyms. I’m old, and I believe acronyms help people remember things they’d rather forget.

1: Plan. Allocate enough time for studying

The average candidate spends 300 hours preparing for each level of the CFA exams (hence 300Hours.com - CFA Institute gets arsey if we use ‘cfa’ in domain names...).