$300mm HF analyst - take it or wait?

WSO,

First off, thanks to everyone who's posted meaningful responses along the way, I don't think I would be in this situation without everyone's help.

However, I'm currently in a dilemma and would love to get opinions from those experienced in the industry. I recently received an offer from a 300mm aum l/s equity HF (~4 other ppl, 2pms. Most likely never have heard of it) in LA and wanted to see what everyone's thoughts are on taking this offer vs. waiting for something more well known. I'm currently a BB IBD analyst ending my second year and have the option of staying a 3rd. I liked the team and position / would like to stay in LA, but wanted to see how transferable this experience would be to another fund if this opportunity wasn't to work out. After all, you never know how well something will work out until you actually start. Assume pay is in line etc. would you take it or reject it?

Apologies for the typos, sending this from my phone / on the road.

Best Response

If you like the people, the strategy and want to stay in LA, then you should take it. There aren't a ton of HFs in LA (much less equity focused ones) and 300mm is a decent size, certainly beyond critical mass so you shouldn't have to worry about implosion.

Obviously you should diligence their reputation/PMs reputations and returns but if those check out and you felt it was a good fit you should take it.

You need to get out of the prestige-driven mindset if you're going to move to the HF world. There are a ton of advantages to working at a relatively smaller shop. I know my preference would have been to land at a $300mm fund and not the $3bn fund I'm at.

mrb87:

If you like the people, the strategy and want to stay in LA, then you should take it. There aren't a ton of HFs in LA (much less equity focused ones) and 300mm is a decent size, certainly beyond critical mass so you shouldn't have to worry about implosion.