4th Year Analyst in elite boutique (aka “2020 is a special year”)

Hey folks,

By way of introduction, I am now a 4th year analyst (yes, 4th!) in the investment bank which is generally considered by WSO community as an elite boutique (see the likes of Lazard, Evercore, Houlihan Lokey, Rothschild, PJT).

At the very beginning of 2020, it indeed seemed that the year may become a disaster for the industry, however at the end the financial performance of most of the investment banks (and even more so elite boutiques) proved to be very competitive YoY. My bank is not an exception – our 2020 results are pretty much on par with what was achieved in previous years. As such, all bonuses and promotion policies remained intact / “business as usual” i.e bonuses were paid and promotions were granted to all the bankers eligible for such promotions (i.e all sufficiently performing 3rd year Analysts were promoted to Associates, all sufficiently performing 3rd year Associates were promoted to VPs etc). This has not become the case, however, only in one! office of the bank – unfortunately, it is the office where I am based. It is a relatively small-size office located in the emerging market. The bonuses were paid, however none of the people who were eligible for promotion in the team got the promotion. All that despite wonderful reviews and rankings of these people in the bank’s global review system – more than on par with relevant people from all other offices across the globe who got promoted. No meaningful explanation has been ever given by the local management, other than some vague narrative related to the fact that “2020 is a special year”.