Q&A: Non-target >>> Big 4 Valuation >>> Boutique IB Analyst

Hey WSO,

I've been a forum lurker for a little over 4 years now and felt like it was time to contribute to the community.

My background:

As the title says, I went to undergrad at a non-target where I majored in finance and economics. Had internships in boutique restructuring consulting and in a Big 4's capital markets group. It was a grind to even get those opportunities, so believe me when I say that interviewing for Big 4 opportunities at a non-target is just as competitive as the BB recruiting stories at targets. I would say I performed well throughout the application process primarily because I had a high GPA (which is the most important for internships) and because I had extracurricular finance experiences (selected to visit NYC and tour BBs/HFs/PEs), as well as social extras (fraternity).

Eyes set on the M&A Path

I knew I wanted to be an M&A analyst after my discussions with alumni and strived to network as hard as possible throughout the rest of my undergrad. Unfortunately, it never worked out. I had interviews at BBs for SA positions, but I don't think I really measured up at that point. When those opportunities are given to you, you really need to grab it with everything and I definitely missed the mark because I was not prepared technically and did not have my story crafted in a way that made me stand out compared to my target competition (literally had an interviewer say that she would transfer my application to the S&T group because there were more people from my undergrad there and I would not stand a chance against Ivy League kids). It was tough, but I had my eyes set on getting M&A experience and I continued to follow that path.

Transferred to Valuations Group at Big 4