CAIA to transition to energy infrastructure investing?

Hi,

question up front: I am interested in getting into energy infrastructure investing, specifically renewables, hydrogen, power transmission, etc., either on the equity or debt side. I am wondering whether the Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst (CAIA) cert is a possible way in as someone from a non-finance background. I am in Europe and would prefer to work in either Europe, the Middle East (Dubai), or Canada.

Additional details: I am currently working at a Big 4 in Europe mostly doing due diligence on integrity, reputational, and regulatory risks (i.e. corruption, bribery, conflicts of interest, that sort of thing). This is often in the context of large M&A transactions, with most of that work recently being in the renewable energy and infrastructure sectors. I have about six years work experience and am a manager. I have multiple degrees in social sciences, am pretty numerate, and can program in multiple programming languages (for data analysis). 

I am apparently not allowed to post links to jobs I'm interested in since I'm new here, but there is currently for example a job posting for an energy infrastructure associate at MIRA available, as well as an energy, utilities, transport & renewable power analyst at Brookfield.

Both jobs ask for experience in investment banking, corporate development, or similar, as well as financial modeling and valuation skills. I have neither. In your view, is there a chance that the CAIA, together with my existing experience with M&A transactions from the integrity / compliance side could be enough to make me a candidate for those types of jobs? And if not, what could I do instead? For a variety of reasons, let's exclude an MBA from the universe of possible actions to take.

I've done a search in the forum but haven't found a thread that would answer my questions.

Thank you in advance.

Most Helpful