CCIM 101 Preparation

Hey guys,
So I am a recent college graduate with very limited financial knowledge (political science major). I am seeking to break into commercial real estate. I already have my regular license. At the instruction of several people in the industry, I have registered for the first CCIM class, 101- financial analysis of commercial real estate class in February in Orlando. I am doing so in order to gain a working knowledge of the investment side of the business. Given my background and the difficulty of the course, I am wondering how to go about preparing for this class and what to expect from it. Any advice would be helpful on what to expect from it, and how to be successful in the concepts it teaches you. Thanks

Best Response

That doesn't make it a good option, just an expensive way to learn. And again, you can't put in on your resume until you have ACTUAL experience(because you wont have the designation). Not trying to be debbie downer, it's just the truth. There are a million posts here about networking into firms and how to break into brokerage, I'd suggest reading those. Think about a modeling course(BIWS, REFM, whatever), you can get some decent excel skills for a LOT less than the cost of CCIM courses. Read this website: http://astudentoftherealestategame.com/

Brokerage(I'm assuming that's what you're interested in because those are really the only people with CCIM's) is a relationship business. Half the people, if they even have degrees which is firm and market dependent, have sociology BA's or whatever. Brokers aren't architects and engineers. Point is, depending on your area of brokerage, any technical skills you have are pretty close to irrelevant. They just aren't needed. What is needed is a solid understanding of your market, an ability to meet people and build relationships, and you have to be able to capitalize on those relationships and turn them into deals.