(Class of 2021) Opinions On My College School Picks And Choice

I am a student in NE Ohio and I currently am trying to figure out which schools I should attend if admitted. This is my current list of schools and am open to feedback on why/why not they are good ideas:

1. Columbia
  2. NYU
  3. UT Austin
  4. Michigan
  5. Ohio State University

I'm on the edge of some of these schools because as of right now my high school stats are odd

ACT: 31
GPA: 3.5 (But 4.0+ Junior Year)
President of Investment Club
VP of Math Club
50+ hr/week job during summer
40 hr/week job during school

My bottom line question is what colleges should I attend in this list and how much of an importance should I place on a program such as NYU Stern or UT McCombs when picking my college and should I still attend a school such as NYU if another school that I ranked lower offers me a spot in a similar program?

Any Feedbacks helps, Thanks.

This isn’t college confidential.

I would caution you to not put all your eggs in one basket and only focus on the school with the “best business program”. You may think you have it all figured out, but trust me you will change greatly in those four years and may end up doing something completely different. Nonetheless, a good rule of thumb is go to the school with the most prestige that you feel that you would personally fit in at. It’s no so much just purely the name brand that prestige brings but also the resources, and most importantly — the network, which is where you really open doors.

to echo off of this, you should also consider going to a school that you can enjoy for 4 years. If you like UT Austin more than NYU, consider going to UT Austin. There are many paths to breaking into IB or any good career, and being in a place that you love will motivate you to do better and work harder.

Agree with liquidiot.

Your list seems short and reach heavy. With a 3.5 and 31 you might only leave yourself with Ohio State.