Comp @ 100m+ L/S

Been talking with a 100m long short with 2 founders and wondering what a reasonable comp expectation is. Fees are in the 1.5/15 range and I have 5 yrs of experience (2.5 yrs buyside). They have said carry will be part of comp after yr 1 but trying to gauge the base + bonus expectation.

$125k + 0-300% (of base) is fair given the smaller AUM base

1.5% management fee would mean $1.5M of fees for the partner’s salaries, overhead, trading, etc. so $125k is feasible 

Assuming a good year (I’m assuming 20% gross performance), this would imply $3M Carry dollars for the 2 partners. Obviously their mouths will be fed first and the majority will go toward them. But a payout of $375k from that $3M Carry pool is not that unreasonable if you contributed and performed. 

so all in $500k is pretty solid in a good year. Your goal should be to maximize the amount of Carry you get in the next few years because, assuming the fund scales nicely, ur comp will increase nicely as well 

500k way too high for 100m AUM imo. Maybe in a generous and excellent +20% yr. Take an avg +8 to 10% year on $100m capital base and there’s not much to go around. It’s not even a given that many places can grind out those returns either. 

I work a a 100mm fund with 4 IP. All in comp was 150k with base = 85k. Return was XX% (below teens, double digit) in 2020. 1.5-2years out of college.

Hope that helps!

EDIT: Fee Structure is 1.25/18 with no hurdle

Thx! Hopefully the comp scales with performance over time. And FWIW, we have a 1.25/18 fee structure with no hurdle

I tried getting that information during my review but the comp is decided by the person whose name is on the wall and it's very opaque. Don't know how that would scale but I doubt our AUM is scaling...it hasnt really scaled for the last decade.