Does anyone in your shop work remotely all the time?

I work as an analyst for a fairly large publicly traded multifamily REIT and was surprised to find there are a number of senior level people (VP and above, but no corners) who work from home from various different cities around the country. They call in to meetings and fly in when necessary, and are generally well respected for their work... Doesn't seem like a great way to run a company but maybe I'm missing something. Is this the new normal because of technology's ability to break down all barriers?

I had a VP who came in about twice a week u less there were a ton of meetings. She seemed to do just fine and got a lot done. The one thing for her is she could have a call come in from overseas and have to work with them to get something resolved. If you are able to complete your work and don't have to answer a phone I see no issue with it.

Only two sources I trust, Glenn Beck and singing woodland creatures.

I would think management would be somewhat difficult performed remotely, but as a general rule, offering the ability to work from home at least some of the time makes so much sense if you want to attract quality employees who may be willing to work for less in exchange for better balance.

Also, I read the other day that the average office worker around the country does 2 hours, 53 minutes of real, actual work in any given day, on average. If I were setting the rules of a company, I would strongly consider a 6-hour work day w/the ability to work from home 2 or 3 days/week.

Array

Dances with Dachshunds:
I would think management would be somewhat difficult performed remotely, but as a general rule, offering the ability to work from home at least some of the time makes so much sense if you want to attract quality employees who may be willing to work for less in exchange for better balance.