First time posting my resume here - would appreciate feedback - F500

Hi,

This is my first time asking for a resume review here - I'd really appreciate your help.

http://www.razume.com/documents/184976

I'm a senior at a non-target in the USNWR Top-100 (with no finance or accounting major). I'm looking to get a job in a F500 finance leadership program, a la GE's FMP. I've applied to about 15 so far across a variety of industries, and I'm getting nervous about not getting interviews. Please let me know what you think about the resume - I'll be submitting more applications in the next few weeks, so let me know what I can improve.

Thanks in advance,

Dublin

Best Response

From the top down:

1. Your general format needs to be tweaked - your section titles should stand out more, Lose all of the indents.

2. Shrink your education section a bit - you don't need that much coursework, only show intermediate and advanced courses. Why is National Merit Scholar and your SAT scores just floating below?

3. Your TIAA internship doesn't sound finance-enough. There is nothing there; it almost sounds like an ops position - show me some hard skills, discuss what you actually did, how you did it and any results that were realized - not just a bland statement saying "Coordinated efforts of XXXX" That doesn't really show me that you are a strong candidate. Make position look like it is front office, even if it is not.

4. Same thing for the investment website. You're just giving me flat statements - how did you construct the reports, what did you evaluate, how did you evaluate it - any financial modeling, or analysis performed - any results realized from your efforts. Show me everything, don't just tell me something and assume I will know the whole story.

5. Same thing with the startup - how did you support the CEO - show me the value add there - show me the impact. Show me that you didn't support him/her by answering phones and cleaning the bathroom mirrors.