Gift Ideas for Father - $1500

Hi everyone, I'm currently a sophomore. This summer I interned at a private equity firm and got my first ever paycheck.

I wanted to buy a gift for my father but have no idea what to get him. My budget is $1500. Please let me know any suggestions. Thank you!

Most Helpful

You could get a watch or something, but honestly, I say save your money. Get a nice dinner together and have a great time. Cover the tab and say “thanks for bringing me this far, you’ve given me everything I need to succeed in this internship and support myself today, and I love you from the bottom of my heart.” You’ll warm his heart until it’s hotter than the sun. Priceless… or perhaps at the price of some steak or lobster.

Yeah this. Say you have to go to the bathroom and get your card to the waiter secretly. 

"If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them." - Bruce Lee

When I was 18 in my first real job, my parents came to visit and we ate lunch at Subway. I finally had some cash to spend and bought lunch for the three of us. My dad was caught off guard and said “you didn’t have to do that.” Which is the typical response, but I never forgot that moment and his unexpected reaction on just a simple act of kindness.

Another time years later I was in college, my Dad fronted me a bunch of money for tuition and travel expenses to study abroad in China. I was in the honors school and they ended up paying for the whole trip and cutting me a check for $6.4K. I came home one night and said ‘here’s your money back,’ and again he was like “keep it.” But I refused and it really meant a lot to him at the time. 

I’m not implying anyone was hurting for money, but it’s all about the ‘gesture.’