Goldman 2021 SA LDN dilemma

Here it goes - I graduated from a semi target ( think Durham, Exeter, Nottingham) in 2019 and will start Mfin at LSE in Sept. Over the year I have gained work ex which includes a 6 month gig at a well-funded fintech startup and I'm currently interning at a pe with $5 bn plus under assets. I will finish the internship end of june. My Cv and cover letter aren't ready yet. I'm wondering as to what approach to take in terms of when to apply as this is very early and I don't even have access to career services at LSE to get a feedback on cv cl. Also I have heard conflicting things about eligibility of masters students for London SA, if anyone knows for certain do tell.

Also how big of a factor is networking with GS?

I know a lot of Master’s students are able to apply if it’s been continuous from undergrad. I’m not sure if the same applies wrt if you took a year out to work. Then you aren’t a penultimate year student.

Most Helpful

This is my tips:

• Even if you start LSE in September, make sure to put on your CV and on the application form that you are going to LSE, even for the banks that you apply to in July.
  • On your graduation date, put 2022. Your master is technically 1.5 years so there is nothing wrong with doing this. The reason is that companies like JPM will not send automatic VI if you put 2021.
  • Apply the first day (1st of July). HR told me to apply first day, VI will be given on rolling basis so this is crucial. If you are applying for FO, if you haven't submitted your application after the first day you are late imo.
  • You do not need LSE career service, you can make a solid CV+Cover Letter without them, you got all resources online.
  • When it comes to eligbility, I know master students that have interned at every bank, will not be an issue. Some banks like GS also allow you to start directly afterwards, may depend on division etc.

Good luck with your application.