How bad is 3.68??

Hi all

I am a first year MBA student (@ non target school). I am desperately trying to get a summer internship at an I Bank, but till now either I haven't back or have got regrets.

Being good at finance, I felt that I would be able to convert even a single interview into an offer, but looks like my at my GPA I wont even get that.

Any views? Should I continue to look for I banking or should I just drop it and start looking for some baby sitting opportunities?

its not your GPA that's hurting you... is recruiting season over for you anyways? from what I gather, banks are still sorting through applications.

PLEASE DONT CHANGE EXCEL SHORTCUTS!!!

other problem that I see is that only one I bank, that too BB, visited my school till now and I don't see ANY other on the career center listings....

I really don't know about the online application process for the non target schools, but have a strong feeling that those really don't have any back end....

anyways if you guys feel that GPA is not a problem then what could be the likely reasons in your opinion?

Oh yeah, if you were applying on the company's website, then it's quite possible that you were applying to a circular file. You will need to apply through your career center; hopefully they have strong enough relationships with the banks to get your resume in front of the right people.

Personally, I think the problem is that your school isn't working very hard to get you guys into i-banking. Hell, my school has been working hard on that for years -- over half of each year's class is aiming for bulge-bracket i-banking -- and only three to five get in per year. If your school isn't at least that focused, it'll be hard to ever place anyone.

Mis Ind you are spot on, but what could those people do if the industry doesn't look at the school as a feeder program and the fact that it means fewer alums in the industry doesn't help either.