How much impact will an undergraduate GPA have vs. a graduate GPA on future career? Differences between 3.7 and 3.8?

Hello all!
I just completed my masters in accountancy this may with a 3.7 GPA, and I earned an honors degree in undergrad with a 3.8 GPA. When I was an undergrad, I majored in accounting and double minored in marketing & economics. In September this year, I will be pursuing another master degree in public administration & international development for two years.

As far as professional experiences, I have always tried to work as much as possible when I was in school (have a total of 2 years of experiences) with finance internships at two of the Big-four accounting firms and three of the Fortune 100 companies.

Eventually I want to go work for one of the consulting firms or an international finance organization like the IMF/the World Bank.

However, I am scared that my 3.7 GPA in masters of accountancy will hinder my chances of getting into those organizations. Should I be concerned?? My grad GPA did decrease from undergrad, what is the possible impact? Will any of you provide more insight on what is valued more when it comes to getting a competitive job?

Thank you for the answers!!

lilylilylily96:

lol okay guys- it all started with an acquaintance of mine who was leading the recruiting efforts at one of the firms. he told me that based on my GPA there was no chance for a 1st round.

all of your comments are funny. thanks for mocking me but i do appreciate the assurance!!

That's some pretty shitty acquaintances you have there.

Do I think your master will clean it up a little? Yes. A medium amount? Yes A lot? Hard to say.

Passing the CFA L1 and a 4.0 in an Msc are no easy feats, so technically you have proven yourself. It will really be up to chance now, and whether or not you will land in good graces.

Thanks for your reply.