How should I network for full time 2019 when I have a 2018 summer internship?

Hi all,

I am looking for some advice regarding a situation I am in.

I recently got a BB internship in Equity Research for the summer of 2018 (my dream internship) and I am excited for it. At the same time, I still want to expand my network at other firms just in case full-time recruiting is necessary. I have several questions and was wondering if other people who were in similar situations can provide some insight:

1) Is it okay to email professionals at other firms while I have this upcoming internship? I won't be asking for a job, it is just so I can establish a connection with them and learn more about what they do.

2) Is it okay if I mention that I am an incoming intern at XYZ firm and found their background interesting/ would like to learn more about themselves? Or should I not mention the firm and internship at all until they bring it up? I feel that by mentioning it I increase the risk of something bad happening like a professional at the firm I am emailing reaching out to his/her buddy at the firm I am interning for this summer. On the other hand, if I do mention it, I feel that my response rate would go up.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Hey axiaskepsi, I'm the WSO Monkey Bot...do any of these help:

• Applied for summer 2018 internship. Company offered me full time offer in 2019. How should I feel? Slightly disappointed after what I thought to be a great interview (didnt network though). ... Benefits and downsides of going FT without interning there? I didnt include firm name in case its ...