I have a 2.4/760, with good work experience is M7 or T10 achievable?

Hi everyone I'm a second year law student at a decent school. I have a 3.75 in law school and I had a 2.4 in undergrad and I went to law school immediately after undergrad.

I probably have the ability to get a JD/MBA right now at a top 25 or so school (Emory/IU/Minnesota/UNC/GT/ND) in coordination with my JD program.

I'm wondering if I should wait to try and get an MBA 3 years after graduation or try to get a JD/MBA immediately. If I can go to an elite b-school later, I'll wait but if it's not likely I'll probably try and go now. If I wait, I'll probably work in big-law or corporate development (very good chance I'll have offers at both) for 3 years and then apply.

Redelephant:

Oh dear. Are MBA's at all that worth it? I'm having trouble justifying paying an extra 80-100k in tuition +160k or so in lost salary to have the same recruiting benefits.

Is it something necessary in the long run, if I don't intend on being a lawyer long term?

Depends on your goal. If you're asking this question, I'd be more concerned over whether the law degree was worth it.

Necessary for what?

Best Response

Here is the answer:

• The 2.4 in Poli Sci at an average state school hurts your odds big time, no other way around it.
  • Overcoming it requires being very attractive in every other aspect of your application.
  • The GMAT is just one aspect. Contrary to popular belief, you don't need a 760 to compensate for it, but you do need a 7-something. Your 760 works just fine. -Everything else must be done properly: prestigious law firm; promotions; extracurricular leadership; languages; international mindset; targeted story for the school; interesting and credible career goals; recommendation letters; essays; taking several math courses at a university and getting A's; networking with alumni, the usual.