Is this the right track to build net worth?

Hello, I am a first year analyst at a BB in NYC. I grew up in the Bronx which is where I still live (not at home, just close to it because I really don't care about living in Manhattan would rather save the money and commute). 

Prior to starting FT, I had around 7k in savings + checkings (most of my intern money went to paying rent/bills at college (went to an ivy). I had an emergency family health issue with my grandfather, he is in (Europe) and contributed about 2.5k alongside larger contributions from my parents, older siblings, other family to pay for his surgery. Have absolutely no problem in contributing for this, family is family and I was close with him. The resulting financial situation I face is that after about 2.5 months on the job, I have around 6k in savings and 5k (1k of which is Roth IRA) invested in various ETFs and around 800 in a 401(k) (plus equivalent company match). 

I am a bit worried about my financial future as this event shook if something like this were to happen to my parents, siblings or myself. We put up around 45k for my grandfathers surgery in a country where healthcare is much lower cost than the US (this was a very specific, expensive, and specialty surgery). Because of this, I feel like the best move would be for me to prioritize getting 20k asap in my savings. I was thinking of just putting all the salary I get that I do not spend in my savings (e.g 2k a month because I only pay around 800 for 1 room in a 2 bedroom with my friend and also contribute 800 to my parents (reality have around 2.8k excess out of 4.6k post tax)). At the same time, I am worried I will not be contributing enough to investments. However, if I do I save diligently, I will have my desired savings in 7 months after which I would feel more comfortable investing again. Is this appropriate?