Katerra, A Construction Company, Raises $865 Million

I thought I would drop this article in here to see what some of you guys think about this construction company. After looking at their website, it looks like a tech based vertically integrated construction company. Do you think this is the future of construction? And, if so, do you think this can bring down building costs? Just some food for thought..

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/24/business/dealb…

I'm no expert on construction, but based on what I've heard from friends in the industry, the business has consistently been very inefficient, marred by a lack of technological innovation and a general desire to stay within the boundaries of old-fashioned practices. For example - the sheer amount of waste left over after construction is completed can add up to millions of dollars in spare parts, most of which is just thrown away.

Vertical integration makes sense. A tech- and data-driven supply chain, mass production of common parts (panels, windows, doors, etc.) for every new building (just put together in different configurations), and full ownership of the building process from design through completion. No more settling multi-day arguments between the drywall guy and the architect on whether or not the window should be 2 feet or 3 feet off the ground.

Curious to hear opinions from people who know the industry better though.

Best Response