Macquarie Software & Services 2021

Does anyone have any insight into Macquarie's Software & Services group in NY? Essentially looking for any insight into culture, hours, exits, etc.  

Does anyone have any info on the group? Sounds like Sam Shah heads the group out of Chicago. Bunch of legacy CS guys with solid deal flow but also wondering what happened to the original TMT group and what led to the reshuffling.

Also curious how much of the work is staffed out of NY vs Chicago vs SF. Sounds like there is a fair bit of cross staffing involved but with the power center being in Chicago unclear how that affects the experience. 

Good number of A2As but where does everyone else go?

Also what is the group culture like? Are analysts allowed gym time and how closely does Macquarie follow a protected Saturday policy? And how much protected PTO is there?

Most Helpful

I am an analyst at the firm, so can weigh in. I will answer the following questions:

1. Culture/Hours - What they are like
    1. Overall I honestly love the culture. Super friendly and non-arrogant. MDs and VPs make edits to materials all the time vs just sending it down, and generally they look after Juniors well. Also big pro is I feel like I can ask for certain types of transactions and they will try their best to get them to me. Really to me the main selling point.
    2. Hours have been up and down depending on what location. A lot of cross staffing across office so depends on the timing. I would say street average maybe slightly more given the leaner deal team structure. However, I can say if hours are higher they take note and will shift stuff around for you.
  2. What happened to TMT / what is the structural reasons for S&S