Masters Degree Debate

I just graduated from a state school with a 3.45 GPA. I have some internship experiences, but I know I can’t get into IB without a graduate degree and stellar grades.

I’m currently studying for the CFA Exams, But I’m trying to decide If I should get a Double Masters In Finance And Accounting at a Non-ivy or finished all the CFA Exams and then apply for an MBA Program. And do whatever job comes my way for the next couple years.

Any Advice would be greatly appreciated and sorry If there’s grammar and spelling errors.

Most Helpful

Sounds like you got a real master 'bate on your hands. A couple of points:

• You don't need a graduate degree to get into IB.

• Are you studying for CFA Level 1? It shows your interest in finance, but you don't need CFA for IB. I would stop after Level 1 for now unless you're interested in AM further down the line.

• Don't get "double masters". Again, you don't even need a masters degree.

• You most likely need work experience first before applying to credible MBA programs. If I were you I'd focus my efforts on networking and getting your first job. Cold emailing alums, etc.

-

finish cfa exams and get 5-7 years of work experience before going to get your masters. CFA takes dedication and time that’s harder to come by as responsibilities pile up (work, family).

As a graduate student working on master degree, i can assure you master degree would disqualify you in IBD, The only front office choice you have is Quant and Strat. Most Master degree students end up in middle office and back office. I would recommend you to choose the MBA path, prestigious MBA would help you enter IBD.

Correction: MS program like Vanderbilt does have high IBD employment rate.

My master is in Ivy league ,major finance related. Hardly see any chance that master graduates went straight into IBD. The most common FO they were in are Sales and Trading, but needs strong quant skills.