MBB internship info Summer EU 2022

I am an Italian student from a non-top tier BS in France. My school has a good world ranking, not top tier, however MBB events do not cover my university. 

I would like to know if it is feasible to get an internship with a non-top tier BS in my background and with a previous 3 month internship abroad. I understand that a breakout referral is a huge key point. 

I would like to apply in my native country, not in French. 

Finally, what T2 companies do you think would be good for a future MBB position. Big 4 or would other companies also work? 

Thanks a lot. 

Do you speak fluent French? If yes, great. If no, you'll be unemployable in France.

The T2 firms are generally Roland Berger, Kearney, Oliver Wyman, and Strategy& and will give you a big leg up when applying for MBB. Big4 and other global consultancies (and some reputable French ones like Kéa) are all good stepping stones too, but remember their are a lot more applicants coming from those. 

Most Helpful

To be frank, your chances are very slim and my best advice is you should plan for a longer game.

MBBs in Italy, as any other countries, mainly recruit from target schools (Bocconi / Politecnico in Italy, HEC / Essec from France).

Also, there is really no concept of “summer internship” in Italy, as 80% of businesses shut down for a whole month in August and so do consulting firms. Even outside of the summer, how internships work there is that you start working after graduation as an intern and at the end of the internship you’re offered a conversion to full time, with no break in between. Even for these internships, 95% of recruits come from a target school and do have a masters degree. In Italy you’re close to unemployable if you don’t have a masters.