Medical School --> IBanking

Hi everyone,

I'm a 2nd year medical student at a mid-tier school, went to University of Michigan following the premed track with the intent of becoming a doctor. Long story short, I've realized I'd rather pursue a career in investment banking. I know some will probably be skeptical, but I've done my homework and given it a lot of thought. My question is what is the best way to enter/side-door into IBanking while being in graduate school?

I'm having trouble getting internships since I'm not in undergrad anymore, which is a requirement for many of them, and haven't had any luck applying to analyst positions because of the lack of finance experience (most of my experiences are volunteer work with AmeriCorps, club leadership positions, hospital jobs, tutoring, etc.), although I have been taking online courses and reading books for the technical questions and skills but don't think companies will take those seriously. I'm at an awkward in between, and was wondering if anyone had tips whether to focus on full-time analyst positions vs. internships, or even something else.

The only caveat is that I can only take 1 year off from school if I decide to come back for whatever reason, so I haven't been considering getting other financial experience (consulting, accounting, VC, etc) so that I can instead get the true experience of IB. Finishing school with the MD to get into associate programs is an option, but I want to avoid taking on 2+ years of medical school debt if possible.

Would love to hear any thoughts or advice. Thanks in advance.

I get hours in IB can go 80-100+/week, but residency, which is 3 years minimum with $60-70k salary, see similar hours (not including 60+ hours spent studying in med school). Half of the time is spent writing up notes on your computer, and the other half you can meet some great patients but at least for me, it's not the most amazing work either. Debt will be ~$250k+ after school.