My P/L = 470%+ but I'm getting f*cked over by my employer.

I'm a prop trader at a top boutique, running my own book. My last month's performance is over 470%. I literally struck in the lower-millions for my firm in just one month. granted, i've had losing months in the past, but my past annualized returns have been a steady 90-120%. Someone told me off the record that i seem like a 'threat' to some senior management.

The verdict? They might 'let me go' or transfer me to a lower trading group, or restrict what i can trade citing reasons that I "have trouble getting along" with others, basically pissing me off and forcing me to leave on my own, despite the fact that i just made a shitload of money for them. But it happens, yeah? It's an uphill battle basically. Me against the firm. Bullshit.

What would you do in this case?

Best Response

Compile your track record stats and transfer to another prop firm. I interned at a boutique investment bank last summer doing grunt work for the index arbitrage traders while also managing my own small book. Made a killing during the month of May and August yet they did not increase my capital base, while another intern who was related to a VP within the IBanking division had his account size increased by 60% even though he was hitting his daily loss limit on a daily basis. Although I'm certainly grateful for the opportunity, it made me realize that even prop trading at a boutique is far from a meritocracy.

Common sense would be to shop your skills at firms that focus solely on profit i.e. largers firms. While its not 100% usually the smaller the firm the bigger the egos.

Follow the shit your fellow monkeys say @shitWSOsays Life is hard, it's even harder when you're stupid - John Wayne

This happened to papa W.Beach back in the day....