Need advice for getting any internships summer 2020 and 2021

I recently just got into investment banking since April 5, 2020. I’ve been grinding it out since then everyday trying to learn. Sadly, I have no internship experience in anything and I am a junior at the McCombs business school studying finance with a shit gpa of 3.3232.
I made this decision going into investment banking right after I quit a full-time job in affiliate marketing for 4 years. It was a small private company but we did over $1 million profit annually whereas I earned 18% of that a year.
I quit because I wanted to pursue this field. I really want to find an internship that will actually help me experience ib this summer as well as next summer. Kind of clueless on the timeline for recruiting but what are the odds of getting some elite boutique next year? When should I be applying and networking? I don’t care where in the world the offer is, I’ll take it. any suggestions for banks?

Most Helpful
ericjin199:
Kind of clueless on the timeline for recruiting but what are the odds of getting some elite boutique next year?

SA2020 hiring happened a year ago but you kind of get a pass this summer with so many internships getting cancelled. If you're planning on graduating in 2021 you need to be recruiting full time, or take a 5th year and bust your balls for SA2021.

Recruiting is happening right now for 2021, McCombs has some specific rules/delays for on campus recruiting but they might not apply right now. 5th year is totally acceptable but these are extremely competitive. EBs generally want high GPA, networking, and prior experience. I think you check the box on prior experience and I might bring you in just to ask you about the affiliate marketing, but you need to network heavily to get over your GPA.

180k a year is more than you make as an IB analyst, might just stick with that

Array