Need Advice - Graduated in 2009 with degree in Economics

This post might get lengthy as I feel it is necessary to provide adequate information about my background. For this reason, I apologize in advance but I would greatly appreciate everyone's input.

I graduated in 2009 from the University of Tennessee with a degree in Economics. My GPA was an unimpressive 2.9. During my time at UT, I worked as an intern for Smith Barney. After graduation, I wanted to work in finance but struggled to land a desirable position. After several months of job searching and blaming my poor GPA, I settled for a sales role in an unrelated industry in Tampa, FL.

After working in sales for one year, I decided to go back to school to pursue my MBA in an effort to make myself a more desirable candidate for finance and investment related positions. Again due to my undergraduate GPA and unimpressive work history, I ended up enrolling in the University of Mississippi's MBA program.

I've now almost finished my MBA with a more satisfactory 3.5 GPA. Despite not being quite finished with my degree, I have included the MBA on my resume. After distributing my resume again to local investment companies and recruiters again, I am still struggling to even get an interview. I network like a mad man via Linkedin and personal connections. Still no luck.

At this point, I'm still working in sales (which I absolutely hate) and cannot seem to find a solid opportunity in Tampa. Frustration has led me to begin the University of California Berkeley's certificate program in finance with a focus on capital markets. Up to this point, the schools on my resume have lacked the allure of Cal Berkeley so I'm hoping this helps.

So I'm here to ask;
1.) Do you think the certificate program is even worth my time and efforts?
2.) Do you have any suggestions of what else I could be doing to make myself more appealing to employers?