Professionalism 101 - Your Guide!

WSO warriors, I thought it would be useful to create a thread on how one should conduct themselves in the workplace.

As a new analyst myself, you sometimes find that there are unspoken rules to follow in the office. Every office or team is different, but some of these tips may serve you well.

Please feel post your tips!

1. Come in EARLY! Always come to work 10-15 minutes before your contracted start time, it will serve you well. Time management is an excellent skill to have. It illustrates self-discipline and organisation. Do this with meetings too. If the meeting starts at 4 pm leave your desk at 3:50 pm for a toilet break and travel time (lifts etc). If you know you will be late, dial in! I found that showing up to work 10-15 minutes early allows me to get my mind right and organised for the day, try it.

2. Know your boundaries. Look at your colleagues as you would your friend's mother or grandmother, do not ask personal questions. It is true that we spend a significant amount of time with our colleagues in this industry, but you must always remember that colleagues are not your friends. I have fell victim to this mistake and have crossed boundaries. It is harmless to ask how the weekend was, but don't ask for details. "How was your weekend?" offers the opportunity for detail, but minimise it. I prefer "Did you have a good weekend?" which allows your colleague the opportunity to provide detail. With the latter question, I often answer with "yes thank you, and you?". Do not confuse this point or observation of mine, friends at work are necessary. Friends in IB/Finance or any industry is vital for success and peace of mind BUT don't forget that you are colleagues first. Size people up before you get comfortable and become friends.