[Profile Review:] 27M / 710 GMAT / Venture Capital/ Middle Eastern/ 2.8 GPA

Ethnicity: Middle eastern

Sex: Male

Languages: Arabic (Native), English (Fluent)

Education: Bachelors in Finance from a well respected (Top 50) private school in the US.

GPA: 2.8/4.0

I initially majored in civil engineering. Absolutely hated it. I barely studied and I did not attend most of my classes. I was immature and irresponsible and that hurt my GPA a lot. I got high grades only on the classes that I liked. I decided to do something I like. I switched my major to finance. I was still irresponsible, but I started studying and attending my classes. I got a 4.0 the next semester and that helped me secure a scholarship and I never went below a 3.4 after that.

GMAT: 710

Work experience:

14 months finance & operations analyst at a fintech startup, 7 months as a senior analyst working on a blockchain-based project, 25 months as a principal at a venture capital firm.

Will have about 5 years of experience by matriculation.

International exposure:

Rotating between 3-4 countries in the Middle East and North Africa but most of the time is spent in 2 countries.

Extra- Curricular & Volunteering:

Boxing, Chess, hiking

Orphans care program, probono startup mentoring, and finance tutoring (mainly CFA related)

Achievements:

CFA charter holder

Post-MBA goals:

Work in the United States.

Management consulting is the first option and the second would be corporate development.

Something that I truly love about my current job is that I got my hands wet helping our portfolio companies with operations, strategy, and fund raising, so a lot of parallels can be drawn between management consulting and the work that I'm currently doing. I also love the investment/financial analysis part which is something that is heavily utilized in corporate development.

Schools that I'm applying for:

Michigan Ross, Johnson Cornell, UVA Darden, NYU Stern, , USC Marshall, Toronto Rotman.