Q&A: Pharmaceutical/Biotech Industry

Hi all,

I've seen a fair amount of discussion on the pharmaceutical and biotech industries across forums on this website, so I figured I would host a Q&A to answer any questions people may have about company/industry dynamics, what it's like to work it in, breaking it and general information.

As a bit of background, I studied a biomedical science at a UK medical target and followed that with a few years of healthcare consulting, heavily geared towards pharmaceuticals and biotech across commercial strategy, pricing, market access, commercial due diligence, M&A work and other industry aspects.

Fire away!

WSO Mentor

Want to work with me? Check out my profile here.

I do not since I'm usually on the other side of the fence doing the corporate strategy for companies that are either well or somewhat established. What I can tell you from seeing some smaller biotech clients in their early days is that the main success factors are usually:

• Being able to identify your target population and the true unmet need in it
  • Bring something new or innovative to the table. I don't mean something curative and ground breaking, but even something that is reformulated and goes from once daily dosing to once monthly is a huge plus for certain patients (although with benefits like this, do not expect outstanding prices)
  • Having a solid game plan for clinical trial development and concrete timelines. Tied to this is also realistic expectations of how you will bring something to market if it succeeds (e.g., knowing which companies to partner with etc.)

1. What would happen to the biotech industry if medicare became free for all?
  2. How do you figure out which biotech companies are going to do good in the next few months and which will not?
  3. Can you give a primer on the biotech industry(how it works and what seperates the good from the bad)
  4. How do you know if a biotech company will beat earnings or not for a quarter?

Most Helpful