Q&A: PM at HF (Former sellside macro trader)

Background - 

Attended a top non-ivy undergrad with a degree in mathematics and economics. Prior to leaving for a multi-strat hedge fund (think Bluecrest, Millennium, Balasny, etc.), I was a macro derivatives trader on the sellside. The vast majority of my daily work was focused on idea generation, backtesting and quantifying risk/reward on prop positions with the rest 20% market marking related.

Given my current role on the buyside, my product scope includes futures, bonds, CDX index swaps, CDX index swaptions, IRS, Swaptions, ED$ options and more exotic derivatives as well. The objective is pretty much generating as much uncorrelated alpha as humanely (or machinely) possible while maximizing Sharpe, etc.

Nontraditional Route -

Instead of a traditional campus recruiting process, I started my networking process late at the start of my senior year by cold calling every alumni and any contact I could find on the internet. I regularly flew to Manhattan on my own dime after lining up multiple coffee sessions and persistently followed up. Eventually, this translated to one superday where an  analyst position was created for me on a derivatives desk. 

Feel free to ask me whatever you'd like, or PM me if you're more comfortable doing that instead.

WSO Mentor

Want to work with me? Check my profile here.

Long term, I definitely see myself staying at the HF. It is probably the most meritocratic career path that I personally have seen in finance— you have a hard % payout of your PnL so limited politics versus what you get on the sell side. 

Usually, the caliber of people also tend to be significantly higher given the barrier to entry so you work with some extremely intelligent individuals whom you can learn from.