Resume Question - Graduated in 2009 and played hockey

Hi Guys,

I was wondering if you could give me some advice regarding my resume. I graduated in December of 2009, but from 2004-2006 I played Jr. A hockey out west and in Canada. When I was networking my senior yr I included my junior hockey experience on my resume as if it were any other type of experience (internships, part time jobs, etc.). At the time it was great, it really helped to set me apart from my peers and gave me something to talk about during interviews.

I've been at my current position for almost 2 years, and I'm starting to update my resume and look for a new role. Now that I've been out of school for almost 3 years is this still a relevant experience to include on my resume, or am I just wasting valuable space?

Also should I move the education section so it's underneath the work experience, or leave it at the top?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I take it Jr. A hockey is akin to the minor leagues?

I would include it in an interests/hobbies section, but I wouldn't include it as you would work experience. At the very least it'll make a really cool story to BS about during an interview, and it shows team commitment, etc.

I have on my resume that I play softball and it's come up more than once during interviews.

Best Response

Thanks for the input.