Road path from ECM to F500 tech (strategy/ ops or product management)?

I'm a first-year ECM analyst at a top 3 BB in London. I enjoy what I'm doing, but I wish to eventually move from investment banking to either a strategy/ops position at a F500 tech firm (long term goal of high management... CIO would be a dream come true, but just a dream for now), or product management (with the goal of attaining a high managerial role in PM). I've always loved tech and programming (can delve into what I know/ am learning if need be), and can see myself having a satisfying career in this. I'm leaning more towards strat/ ops, by the way.

That being said, what can I do to best position myself? Would transferring to TMT during my 3rd year make me more appealing to strat/ops as well as PM? Or should I think more about an MBA (or maybe even an MS Info systems for strat/ops)? What level position in strat/ ops, or PM, can I hope to get hired into after a few years of banking, versus banking and an MBA?

Best Response

You can probably jump into a BizOps/Strat role now. Many of the big tech firms hire ex-finance guys every year to staff their Finance or Strategy/Ops teams. You don't need an MS and you don't need an MBA.

The MBA is probably only relevant if you wanted to be a PM at Amazon. Otherwise, for the most part nobody cares. Just simply 'landing' a PM job also doesn't happen. Landing a PM role at a reputable company is very difficult especially if you don't have a CS background, previous PM experience, or a nice portfolio of projects you can point to. A PM role straight out of finance is more attainable at a smaller start up but you need to network your ass off for this opportunity.

Sometimes people in Strat/Ops roles are able to transition over to a PM position as they tend to work with the product folk fairly closely, although this is less true when applied to the goliaths of the industry like FB, MSFT, and Google.