Severely depressed since 2018 for stupid reason - Leaving the UK and Uni

This is going to be really really long apologies: also I am no longer an intern in audit lol.

Do any of you struggle with university and work nostalgia after having to move away from a country due to visa issues? How did you cope? Please share your story, below Is mine

I have been very sad about this very trivial issue for a long time and I wanted to know how you guys cope with this. People have laughed at me when I tell them I am homesick for London so I don't bring it up anymore. 

So I am an American who got a scholarship to go to a UK university. I graduated in 2016 and could not find a job to sponsor my visa so I had to move back to the US. I had a job but it was lost due to the startup going under in 2018

The problem is, I was very happy in London with a girlfriend I was in love with and a very tight knit circle of friends which I never had in America (I found my feet socially in London).

I did not expect to leave the UK, so the sudden loss of my job was devastating. I didn't see this coming so got my mum and dad as well as my siblings to visit regularly the years prior and it became a second home and we all loved it, I've got so many videos of these times as well. 

After leaving the UK I couldn't find a job for a very long time and because I had no friends here in America I was very lonely. Slowly but surely I lost most of the friends I made in London, we still talk very rarely but I still have one or two people I am still really close to and I am grateful for these guys. 

The time I spent unemployed and the very recent death of my father makes me long for my uni days and my time working in London. I have so many videos of my family especially my dad in London during much happier times and it makes me so sad to watch these now.