Starting point for Summer 2020 Internship

Rising sophomore in college and I have ZERO background in finance. I’d like to try out PE through an internship for Summer 2020. Please help with resources, websites, interview prep, general PE advice. Any help is greatly appreciated

Most Helpful

Well, I have been in a similar situation to you so I can help. First, you need to learn the basics of Finance. This includes DCF,LBO,WACC, M&A, Alpha, Beta, Systematic Risk, RSI, MACD and various financial ratios. Second, you need to learn the basics of accounting which includes debits and credits. (Assets = Liabilities + Owner's Equity) and the basic accounting statement. Third, start to learn how to make financial models and different valuation methods. Fourth, at your college or university, make sure you join all the finance clubs or have a job that deals with cash. Fifth, start following the stock market globally and the news everyday which include all of them world wide. I can provide more information if you need.

P.S Start learning and mastering Microsoft Excel, Powerpoint and know SQL.

"It's okay, I'll see you on the other side"

I know you want to do private equity but it is generally a bit more difficult to attain than an investment banking internship. What usually happens is people do their two year stint as an investment banking analyst and then move to PE/HF. Is it possible to take a finance class before SA 2020? Generally, it is a lot easier to learn through someone who much more experience. I would also even recommend going over practice questions for C.F.A charter.

"It's okay, I'll see you on the other side"