Think of it this way: your chances of going abroad to live are pretty limited once you have a career in your home country (unless that job takes you abroad) and you have a family. IB is difficult to get into either way you look at it.

I went abroad during my bachelor's and thought it was a life-changing experience, so I did my master's abroad as well. I am biased. And I also think investment banking is very overrated.

I studied abroad fall semester junior year and got dinged on phone interviews after they asked if I'd be back any time soon. I go to a non-target though, so you could have it different but most likely not. I don't regret it though. Absolutely amazing experience and when I got back I was still able to land an international internship in a different country instead. I also met a bunch of students who studied with me after their internships as seniors and they definitely enjoyed it more because they had already gotten return offers and didn't need to worry.

If you have the opportunity to study abroad for a semester, you will never regret it. It was the best decision I ever made, and I only went for a summer after my sophomore year(I interned in the summer after my freshmen year, so I thought I was ahead of the game.) If you study somewhere with a strong finance presence, you could network in that area and try to apply for positions in that country, maybe get an informational interview with someone in that office, Traveling to Europe for more than a week is invigorating, I highly recommend it. It's a great talking point in interviews, as well.

Also wondering this. I'm planning on going spring semester this year, which looks like it'll be fine for most places since it's all so early this year, but the BX program I really want doesn't begin recruiting until January. Wondering how badly my chances will be hurt by not being able to conduct an interview in person.