Summer 2020 Analyst Internships

Hello,

I'm currently a junior at Kean University, majoring in Business Management; I'm a transfer student who graduated from Union County College with an Associate of Arts in Business.

I have a strong desire to have an investment banking career after graduation, and from what I have searched on this website and online articles, it is essential and very helpful to have a summer internship as a securities analyst with boutique or middle-management firm in order to boost your resume as well as get the corporate experience so you have a feel for what it will be like.

I have also read that most students get their internships the summer after their junior year of college, which is lucky for me as I am right on time, and I have a great GPA to boot, as well.

I have previous work experience at Vector Marketing and Walgreens, and did a paid internship with the Visiting Nurse Service for a good hourly rate of $15 an hour. However, I have never worked at a bank or anything like that.

The Career Fair already came to my school, and I currently have an interview scheduled for tomorrow with Sherwin-Williams for an internship position; the recruiter was impressed with my resume, I have no doubt I'll get the intership. But while I'll take what I can get, I would much rather have an analyst internship.

So my questions are as follows

1.) Besides the obvious LinkedIn networking, what are some good places to look for analyst internships near me in New Jersey? Should I just call some small banks and firms randomly (cold-calling?) and shoot them my resume with an email, to see who is interested?

2.) In your experience, are most of these internships paid or unpaid? I am not interested in unpaid internships.

Thanks!!

Vector Marketing is indeed a scam. Unpaid training hours, no gas compensation for going out to find clients, etc. etc.

But I had that position as a high school senior, go easy on me. xD