Summer Intern 2007 - which bank ?

hi guys,

I am a 1st year MBA student, I am 27, I was in Sales and Manufacturing prior to my MBA but i am not an engineer (come from BBA)

Basically I am now learning more about IBanking and I wanted to know more the BB banks and the differences between them.

Basically I am interested mostly in M&A. Could you guys just give me like a snapshot of the 5-6 best banks and their kind of culture (work hard, pay well, great tem spirit....^_^.....dream)

Thanks in advance for your help

Best Response

Thanks,

That was pretty fast but do each one has a general reputation ? I mean I could find the BB banks but it is hard to know the "street feeling" about those banks. For example it seems that Lehman is kind of a "backstabbing" place, at least this is what I understood by reading several comments. I'd like to know more about the others banks too.

I am also interested in financial sponsors, is there some bb famous for that group ?

Anyway thank you guys for this great forum, very interestesting for people interested in doing ibanking.

I can't say about the rep as havn't worked in these places. But the places I mentioned have a good name. Goldman in Banking terms is top notch and Greenhill and blackstyone have a top name as boutiques.

As for things like backstabbing it will happen everywhere. In these places the stakes are high and everyone wants to gt ahead, so expect that sort of thing. Else go to a tier 2 bank. But even there it is the same.

All these places work you hard, but goldmans from what i hear really puts its's employees through there paces and sacks a lot of people too

wow, jk is a blathering fool and should not be giving advice about this, judging from his posts here and elsewhere. he is probably drooling on his keyboard this very second. jesus christ, the idiocy in this thread is so overbearing i can hardly breathe. antmavel, next time you start a thread don't ramble and just ask your questions. let me clear the air: